Estimated No. of PR (Hare-Clark) Seats in possible multi-member divisions
Copyright Proportional Representation Society of Australia 1998: 18 Anita Street, Beaumaris 3193. Tel. +61395891802, +61429176725  Fax +61395891680        Final ECQ data, from
Summary Table:  Click on this table, which shows that the newly-elected Gallop ALP Government gained only 37.2% of first preference votes, yet they gained 56.1% of the single-member seats. The table shows that this unjust imbalance would not apply under a Hare-Clark proportional representation electoral system, where a Government could be formed from the ALP and GREEN MLAs elected, if they received the support of at least one more MLA.  

Graph:  Click on the graph of the various parties' percentage of the vote, which illustrates the statement above.  With Hare-Clark casual vacancies filled by countback of general election ballot-papers, as for the Tasmanian and ACT Assemblies, the predictable party continuity lets Governments last full term. 

Details of the 13 Multi-member PR Districts: Click on details to see the PR districts, the votes in each, and the seats that would be won with that arrangement, compared with the single-member seats actually won. The single-member system reveals that in 45 of the 57 single-member districts an absolute majority of voters cast their first preference vote for a candidate other than the candidate that was elected. The Liberals and the Nationals gained only one seat each, Cottesloe and Merredin respectively, that was won with an absolute majority of first preference votes. 

This election shows that the diversity of views of the electorate would have been more faithfully represented, and less distorted, if a Hare-Clark multi-member PR electoral system had been used instead of single-member electoral districts. The analysis shows that the highest-polling party, the ALP, won an absolute majority of votes in multi-member PR district No. 4 only. Under Hare-Clark PR in Tasmania a party has often won a majority of votes in one or more of that State's five multi-member districts, but only once has a Tasmanian MHA (Douglas Lowe in 1979) received an absolute majority of first preference votes, because the diversity of candidates and their support has nearly always let voters express their diverse views with a real chance of their being represented. There is no restrictive "winner-take-all" scheme operating for the Lower House of either Tasmania or the Australian Capital Territory, as there is in all the other Lower Houses in Australia, which still continue to be elected from single-member electorates.