Single Member Wards

Eight councils will change to Single Member Wards for the 2020 elections.

New ward boundaries for the eight councils are informed by modelling by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC). These boundaries ensure each councillor represents roughly the same number of voters.

Maps of the new ward boundaries are available below. The affected councils have been asked for their comments and suggestions for ward names by 25 May. This will enable the maps to be finalised and Gazetted for the elections.


2 councils will move to an unsubdivided structure

  • Swan Hill Rural City Council
  • Mansfield Shire Council

Unsubdivided ward example showing map of area with 9 markers all grouped together in the middle

Uniform Multi-Member Wards

No councils will move to Uniform Multi-Member Wards in this round of changes, but it remains a future option.

Single member ward example showing map of area with markers for total of 9 councillors

No change

15 councils that were under review by the VEC will retain their current ward structure

What about the other councils?

All other councils will have compliant electoral structures prior to the 2024 council general elections.

How will this happen?

After the 2020 local government general elections, an independent Local Government Electoral Representation Advisory Panel will review council electoral structures.

The Panel will include the Victorian Electoral Commission and other members appointed by the Minister for Local Government.

The Panel will work with the community to review and recommend to the Minister which councils will need to change to new structures before the 2024 elections.

Large and small rural councils eligibility

Large and small rural councils are eligible to be considered for single member, unsubdivided or uniform multi-member structures when being reviewed by the Electoral Representation Advisory Panel.

Page last updated: 08/05/20